Submit a request

Nerdio Help Center

How to handle Images left running


Applies to: Nerdio Manager for MSP (NMM) v3.0+


Virtual machines are the basic building blocks for your deployments. While VMs offer scalability on demand, if not used judiciously, you may end up paying hefty amounts for unused resources. If you accidentally leave VMs running or forget to turn off Global or Desktop Images, you will higher than expected costs on your Azure bills. Let us consider an example, by leaving a non-production VM running 24x7 when it is used only 12 hours a day on weekdays, you are wasting 65% of the costs. Simply by turning off resources when not in use, you can significantly reduce your Azure bills.

You can start saving costs on your VMs from the minute you start creating them. To save costs on unused images:

  • NMM allows you to schedule auto-shutdown of an image after X hours of powering on the image
  • NMM displays a warning message when an image is left powered on for an extended period of time

Scheduling auto-shutdown of an image

Login to your account and navigate to "Desktop images" tab. Select an image that you want to auto-shutdown and click "Power on" button as shown below:

Desktop_images_poweron_actionmenu.png

The following pop-up opens up. Select "Schedule power off" checkbox. Enter time (in hours) in "Power off after" textbox and and click "OK" button:

Confirm_action2.png

 

This operation will automatically shutdown the selected image after the preset duration.

Once you configure the auto-shutdown, you will see a "clock" icon next to the image. On clicking the "clock" icon, you will see the scheduled auto-shutdown time:

Poweroff_scheduled_message.png

When the image has been auto-powered off at the preset time, you will also see a "Stop desktop image" task under "Desktop images tasks" section:

Image_autopoweredoff.png

Click "Details" option to view detailed logs for the "Stop desktop image" task:

Job_details_stop_image.png

 

Viewing warning messages on your images

If one or more images have been left running for more than eight hours, NMM portal will notify you by showing a warning message at the top of the screen:

Scenario2-warning_msg.png

When you see this warning message, you need to look for all active desktop images in your account(s) and manually power them off. Alternately, if you do wish to keep any images running for more than 8 hours, you need to click "Mute for 7 days" button on the warning message to stop seeing the warning for the next 7 days. You will automatically begin to see the warning message from the 8th day.

 

Similarly, you can configure auto-shutdown of global images:

Confirm_setting_global_image.png

If the image has been left running for more than 8 hours, you will see the following warning message:

Global_images_warning_message.png

Click "Mute for 7 days" button on the warning message to stop seeing the warning for the next 7 days. Otherwise the image will be automatically powered off:

Global_image_off_edited.png

Click "Details" button to view the job details for "Stop global image" task:

Stop_global_image_job_details_edited.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Important Notification for NFA Partners Only
  • Microsoft is sunsetting Azure Classic (not Azure Virtual Desktop (AVD)) - Microsoft Article
  • NFA sunset occurs February 20th, 2023
  • NFA will be fully supported until the official sunset - nfa.support@getnerdio.com

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.