Submit a request

Nerdio Help Center

Overview of Users in NMM


Applies to: Nerdio Manager for MSP (NMM)


 

Overview

The Users page allows you to manage Azure AD users. You can assign Microsoft 365 licenses, reset passwords, assign users to groups, assign to AVD desktops, shadow user sessions, etc. 

Use the Search fields and "Filter by" checkboxes to display users. 

 

mceclip0.png

 

Assign Desktops

Click on the Desktops button to the right of a user to assign them to a AVD desktop

mceclip3.png

 

Clicking in the text field will display a list of available desktops. Type in the field to filter the list.

 

mceclip4.png

 

 

Other functions

Click the drop-down arrow next to Desktops to access other user functions, detailed below.

mceclip5.png

 

RemoteApps

If you have RemoteApp host pools, you may assign them to the user. The process is similar to assigning a user to a desktop.

mceclip6.png

 

AppAttach apps

If you have created and published AppAttach apps, you may assign them to a user here.

 

Microsoft 365

Use this option to assign Microsoft 365 licenses to a user.

mceclip7.png

 

Login to Desktop

If the user is assigned to a desktop, this button displays instructions for logging into the desktop.

mceclip8.png

 

Groups

Use this to assign users to groups and view their current group membership.

mceclip9.png

 

Shadow

If the user has an active desktop session, this will allow you to shadow their session. This allows helpdesk and administrators to help users remotely by viewing or taking control of the user's session.

Click on Shadow to see the configuration options. 

mceclip10.png

Copy the command shown, and run it on a desktop that has network access to the host the user is logged into.

 

Message

Send a message to be displayed on the user's desktop.

 

Logoff

Log the user out of the desktop.

 

Disconnect

Disconnect the user's session.

 

Disable login

Disable the user's login. 

 

Reset password

Reset the user's password

 

Edit

Edit the user's name, email address, phone number, and UPN.

mceclip11.png

 

Delete

The user account is permanently deleted. It is automatically removed from groups, M365 assignment, desktops/app, etc.

Archive

Instead of permanently deleting a user, you may choose to archive the user. Archive user operation can include several steps such as disabling the user login, logging off user from host pool(s), removing host pool assignment(s), stopping session hosts, removing the user from AAD group(s), retaining or deleting FSLogix user profile containers, retaining Microsoft 365 licenses for a certain period or recovering the license immediately. You can select which actions are performed during the archive process.

To archive a user, expand the action menu for the selected user and click "Archive" option:

Select_archive.PNG

Note: If a user is not assigned a valid M365 license, "Archive user" option won't be available.

On the "Archive user" pop-up, select the relevant options:

  • Disable login: Select this option if you want to disable the user's account in Azure AD
  • Log off user: This option is available only if user has host pool assignments
  • Remove host pool assignments: Select this option to remove user from any assigned host pools
  • Remove user from AAD group: Select this option to remove user from any assigned AAD groups
  • Stop session host: Select this option to remove user from the assigned session host
  • Delete FSLogix user profile container: Select this option to delete FSLogix user profile containers, if any, for the user
  • Keep M365 license for X days : With this option you can retain the user's Microsoft 365 license
    • Select a temporary new owner of selected user's emails and OneDrive files: Select this option to add grant another employee access to the archived user's emails & files/folders
  • Remove M365 license immediately: Select this option to remove Microsoft 365 license from the user immediately. Note that Microsoft will retain emails and files for 30 days.
  • Click "Confirm" button

Archive_user.PNG

Note: If user is not assigned to any host pool, you will see the following message in "Log off user" tooltip:

mceclip0.png

Similarly, if user is not assigned to any group/session host, those options will be disabled for selection.

If the selected user (sp-adsync-user1@nerdiofoxtrot.onmicrosoft.com) is assigned to a user group (sptestgrp1) or a host pool (SPtest2), you will be able to select more options available on the "Archive user" pop-up:

mceclip2.png

mceclip3.png

An email notification will be sent to the user sp-adsync-user1@nerdiofoxtrot.onmicrosoft.com in the format shown below:

mceclip4.png

 

Once you have archived a user, it will be marked as shown below:

mceclip5.png

You can track the progress of archive task in the "Users tasks" section:

mceclip9.png

Click "Details" button to view sub-tasks:

mceclip6.png

mceclip7.png

mceclip8.png

Restore

NMM allows you to restore the archived user to its original configuration. For example, if user is assigned to a host pool and AAD group before archiving, the same host pool & group will be assigned to the user after restoring. To restore the user, click "Restore" button next to the user:

mceclip10.png

On the pop-up, select the relevant options and click "Confirm" button:

mceclip12.png

Note: You will not be able to select certain checkboxes (say Assign M365 license) for certain reasons (Microsoft 365 license wasn't removed during archive) as mentioned in the tooltips:

mceclip11.png

Once user is restored, it will be restored to its original configuration and assignments (M365 license, DemoReport/SPtest2 host pools and "All users" /sptestgrp1 user group) as shown below:

mceclip14.png

You can track the progress of restore task in the "Users tasks" section:

mceclip13.png

Click "Details" button to view sub-tasks:

mceclip15.png

mceclip17.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Important Notification for NFA Partners Only
  • Microsoft is sunsetting Azure Classic (not Azure Virtual Desktop (AVD)) - Microsoft Article
  • NFA sunset occurs February 20th, 2023
  • NFA will be fully supported until the official sunset - nfa.support@getnerdio.com

Comments

Article is closed for comments.