Nerdio Help Center

Overview of Groups

 
 

The Groups module allows you to manage the Active Directory groups in your Nerdio environment. You can add, edit and delete distribution lists and security groups. Let's take a look at the Groups module in detail.

Manage Groups

Manage Groups is where you see a list of all groups in your Nerdio environment. This screenshot highlights the different sections of Manage Groups:

Title bar

  In the title bar, you will see a "As of" date and time. Information about groups is loaded in to NAP and cached for performance purposes. The "As of" date & time tells you when the information was loaded in to NAP. The information is auto-refreshed when you take actions such as adding a new group or editing an existing group. If you find the information has gone stale, you can click  the refresh icon to force NAP to load the latest information. It will take about a minute to two minutes to load the latest information. The Groups module will be unavailable while the information is refreshed.

  The search box allows you to search for groups by name or description. Place your cursor in the search box and start typing. The list will be immediately filtered to show matching results. Clear out the contents of the search box to remove the filter and see the entire list.

  You can add a new group by clicking the "add" icon. You can also add a new group by clicking   the Add group button that's available further down on the screen, after the list of groups.

Main section

The main section of Manage groups provides information about a group. Let's look at one row, which is one group, from the Manage groups list. The screenshot below shows the group named IT Department Group:

In the first column you will see the name of the group and an icon representing the group type.

    A blue icon indicates the group is a security group
   A yellow icon indicates the group is a distribution list

The second column shows the description you entered when creating a group. The third column lists the type. Finally, the fourth column lists how many users are in the group.

Two action buttons are available for each group:

Edit:     Use this button to change a group. You can edit a group by clicking the group's name as well
         Delete:   
Use this button to permanently delete a group. If the group has any group members, they will be removed from the group before the group is deleted. You will prompted to confirm the action you are taking.

 

Group management tasks

Group management tasks is where you see a list of tasks you or others have executed on groups. For example, when you create a new group, NAP adds a task to the Group management tasks queue. Your request to create a group typically takes a couple of minutes. You can view the progress of the task in this section. A task will go through these states:

  1. Pending: This means the task has been added to the queue and is waiting to be picked up by NAP's back-end system
  2. In process: This means the task has been picked up and is currently being processed by NAP's back-end system
  3. Complete: This means the task has completed successfully
    OR
    Error: This means the task failed. This typically happens when the group information was not entered right. Depending on your access level, you can click on the word "Error" to view detailed information about the cause of the error.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.