The Servers module allows you to manage servers in your Nerdio environment. You can view a list of all Nerdio servers and perform critical tasks such as reboot servers, add new servers, change server configuration, and remove a server.
This screenshot highlights various areas of the Servers module:
Let's review the "Manage servers" section, which is the main section on the page.
In the title bar, you will see a search box. You can search by server name or description. Place your cursor in the search box and start typing. The list will be immediately filtered to show matching results. Clear out the contents of the search box to remove the filter and see the entire list.
You can add a new server to your Nerdio environment by clicking the "add" icon. You can also add a new server by clicking the Add server button that's available further down on the screen, after the list of servers.
The settings icon lets you decide if you want to view servers that have been shutdown. Click the icon and you will be presented with the option to include or exclude stopped servers in the list of servers.
The main section of Manage servers lists the servers in your Nerdio account. By default the system lists all active servers; stopped servers are hidden unless you change the settings from the title bar.
Let's look at one row, which is one server, from the Manage servers list. The screenshot below shows the server named (1011) FS01:
In the first column you will see the name of the server and an icon representing if the server is on or off:
A green icon indicates the server is up and running.
A red icon indicates the server has been shutdown.
Under the name you will find other critical information - server's fully qualified domain name (FQDN), IP address the operating system.
The second column displays a description for the server. A new server is not assigned a description. You can click the pencil icon to enter a description.
The third, fourth and fifth columns display the server's configuration. You can change the configuration by changing the value in the drop down or clicking the pencil icon.
|NERDIO SUPERHERO TIP
NAP won't allow you to exceed the amount of memory (vRAM) and storage space you have purchased. For example, let's say you have 12 GB of memory available. The options available in the drop down will be limited in such a way that you can increase memory by up to 12 GB only.
The sixth column holds a series of buttons available under the "Restart" drop down:
|Restart:||Use this button to reboot server. You will be prompted for a confirmation.|
|Shutdown:||Use this button to stop server. You will be prompted for a confirmation.|
|Reset (cold):||Use this button to do a hard reboot. You will be prompted for a confirmation.|
|Power off (cold):||Use this button to do a hard stop. You will be prompted for a confirmation.|
|Destroy:||Use this button to delete the server. You will be prompted for a confirmation.|
|Add disk:||Use this button to add a hard disk to server. You will be prompted for the disk size.|
Manage golden desktop image
See this article for an overview of the "Manage golden desktop image" section.
Server management tasks
Server management tasks is where you see a list of server tasks you or others have executed. For example, when you create a new server, NAP adds a task to the Server management tasks queue. Your request to create a server typically takes a few minutes. You can view the progress of the task in this section. A task will go through these states:
- Pending: This means the task has been added to the queue and is waiting to be picked up by NAP's back-end system
- In process: This means the task has been picked up and is currently being processed by NAP's back-end system
- Complete: This means the task has completed successfully
Error: This means the task failed. This typically happens when the user information was not entered right. Depending on your access level, you can click on the word "Error" to view detailed information about the cause of the error.