Nerdio Help Center

Overview of Users

 
 
 
 
 

The Users module allows you to manage Nerdio users in your Nerdio account. You can view a list of all  Nerdio users and perform critical tasks such as reset password, reset desktop, disable login, add a new user and delete a user.

This screenshot highlights various areas of the Users module:

Manage users

Let's review the "Manage users" section, which is the main section on the page.

Title bar

  In the title bar, you will see a "As of" date and time. Information about users is loaded in to NAP and cached for performance purposes. The "As of" date & time tells you when the information was loaded in to NAP. The information is auto-refreshed when you take actions such as editing a user, disabling a user or adding a new user. If you find the information has gone stale, you can click  the refresh icon to force NAP to load the latest information. It will take about a minute to two minutes to load the latest information. The Users module will be unavailable while the information is refreshed.

  The search box allows you to search by a user's name, email address or username. Place your cursor in the search box and start typing. The users list will be immediately filtered to show matching results. Clear out the contents of the search box to remove the filter and see the entire list of users.

  You can add a new user by clicking the "add" icon. You can also add a new user by clicking   the Add user button that's available further down on the screen, after the list of users.

  The settings icon lets you decide if you want to view disabled and archived users. Click the icon and you will be presented with two options. First option lets you choose to view disabled users. The second options lets you choose to view archived users.

 

Main section

The main section of Manage users lists the users in the Nerdio account. By default the system lists all active users; disabled and archived users are hidden unless you change the settings from the title bar.

Let's look at one row, which is one user, from the Manage users list. The screenshot below shows the user named Andy IT Admin:

In the first column you will see the name of the user and an icon representing if the user is active, disabled or archived:

    A blue icon indicates an active user. User may login to Nerdio at any time.
    A red icon indicates a disabled user. User's login has been disabled.
   A yellow icon indicates an archived user. User's account has been archived and the login disabled.

Under the name you will find other critical information - user's primary email address, their mobile number (if any), the username they use to log in to Nerdio desktop and the type of Office 365 license assigned to the user (if any).

The second column displays information about the Nerdio desktop assigned to the user. The desktop information is listed only for users that have logged in to a Nerdio desktop. This column also includes the user's login status. You can view whether the login is enabled or disabled. You can easily change their login status by changing the value in the drop down. Note that it takes a few minutes for the change to take effect. You can monitor progress by scrolling down to the tasks section.

All Nerdio users must belong to one or more Active Directory groups. The third column displays Active Directory group membership of the user. The list shows the first three groups, sorted alphabetically. If the user is a member of more than three groups you will see a "more" link. Click the link to view the complete AD group membership of the user.

The fourth column holds a series of buttons available under the "Reset password" drop down. Which buttons are available depends on your access level:

Reset password:  Use this button to when a user has forgotten their password
Reset desktop:  Use this button when a user's desktop is unresponsive
Revert profile:  Use this button when user's profile has corrupted
Revert desktop:  Use this button when a user wants to go back to a clean version of their desktop
Edit user:  Use this button to change user information
Forward email:  Use this button to forward the user's emails to another user
Archive user:  Use this button to transfer files & folders to another user before disabling the user
Delete user:  Use this button to permanently remove the user and all their files & folders

 

User management tasks

User management tasks is where you see a list of tasks you or others have executed on users. For example, when you create a new user, NAP adds a task to the User management tasks queue. Your request to create a user typically takes a couple of minutes. You can view the progress of the task in this section. A task will go through these states:

  1. Pending: This means the task has been added to the queue and is waiting to be picked up by NAP's back-end system
  2. In process: This means the task has been picked up and is currently being processed by NAP's back-end system
  3. Complete: This means the task has completed successfully
    OR
    Error: This means the task failed. This typically happens when the user information was not entered right. Depending on your access level, you can click on the word "Error" to view detailed information about the cause of the error.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.