Nerdio Help Center

An employee is leaving the company. How do I handle their Nerdio desktop?

 

You have three options - you can disable the login, you can archive the user or you can permanently delete the user.

Disable login

Disabling a user's login simply disallows the user from logging in to their Nerdio desktop. The user and the user's desktop are kept intact. The disabled user continues to count towards the number of active Nerdio users. You may want to use this option if you are planning to access the ex-employee's desktop in the near future to retrieve documents or other information on their desktop. You can reset the user's login password, enable the login and login to the user's desktop. Please make sure you are in compliance with all company policies and local, state and federal laws before accessing another user's desktop.

  1. Log in to Nerdio Admin Portal as an Account Admin or Account IT Admin.
  2. In the left hand menu, click on "Users".
  3. In the "Manage users" section, locate the user. You can use the search box to locate the user quickly.
  4. Change the selection "Login enabled" to "Login disabled". The change takes effect immediately. Double-check you are disabling login for the right user before you make the change.

 

Archive user

Archiving a user -

a) transfers the user's files and folder to another Nerdio user

b) the user's mailbox is converted to a shared mailbox

c) the user is removed from distribution groups

The archived user will no longer be able to log in to their Nerdio desktop. The archived user does not count towards the number of active Nerdio users. If a new user were to come along, they would be able to use the Nerdio user license assigned to the archived user. In order to log in to the archived user's desktop, you must first restore the user. After restoring you will need to reset the user's password and then log in to the desktop. You may want to use this option if you are planning to access the ex-employee's desktop at some point in the future to retrieve documents or other information on their desktop. Please make sure you are in compliance with all company policies and local, state and federal laws before accessing another user's desktop.

  1. Log in to Nerdio Admin Portal as an Account Admin or Account IT Admin.
  2. In the left hand menu, click on "Users".
  3. In the "Manage users" section, locate the user. You can use the search box to locate the user quickly.
  4. From the drop-down menu select option "Archive user".
  5. You will be prompted to confirm the action you are taking. You will also need to select the new owner of the user's files and folders. The user's ability to no longer login goes in to effect immediately; it will take up to an hour to transfer the files to the new owner. Double-check you are archiving the right user before you make the change.

 

Delete user

Deleting a user completely removes the user's files, folders and desktop. The deleted user will no longer be able to log in to their Nerdio desktop. If a new user were to come along, they would be able to use the Nerdio user license assigned to the deleted user. You may want to use this option only when you are no longer planning to access the ex-employee's desktop. Please make sure you are in compliance with all company policies and local, state and federal laws before deleting a user's desktop.

  1. Log in to Nerdio Admin Portal as an Account Admin or Account IT Admin.
  2. In the left hand menu, click on "Users".
  3. In the "Manage users" section, locate the user. You can use the search box to locate the user quickly.
  4. From the drop-down menu select option "Delete user".
  5. You will be prompted to confirm the action you are taking. The change takes effect immediately. Double-check you are deleting the right user before you make the change.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.