Submit a request

Nerdio Help Center

An employee is leaving the company. How do I handle their Nerdio desktop?


Applies to: Nerdio Private Cloud (NPC).


After reading this article, you will have a better understanding of the different options available when an employee leaves the company, the effects these actions have on the data & licenses of the former employee, and access rights to the former employee's desktop and information.

You have three options - you can disable the login, you can archive the user or you can permanently delete the user.

Superhero NERDIO SUPERHERO TIP
bulletpoint If user is disabled, the license does not become available and the desktop resources of that user remain unavailable for new users.
bulletpoint If user is archived or deleted, the license becomes available and a new desktop can be created.

 

Disable login

Disabling a user's login simply disallows the user from logging in to their Nerdio desktop. The user and the desktop are kept intact. The disabled user continues to count towards the number of active Nerdio users. You may want to use this option if you are planning to access the ex-employee's desktop in the near future to retrieve documents or other information on their desktop. You can reset the user's login password, enable the login and login to user's desktop. Please make sure you are in compliance with all company policies and local, state and federal laws before accessing another user's desktop.

  1. Log in to Nerdio Admin Portal as an Account Admin or Account IT Admin.
  2. In the left hand menu, click on "Users".
  3. In the "Manage users" section, locate the user. You can use the search box to locate the user quickly.
  4. Change the selection "Login enabled" to "Login disabled". Double-check you are disabling login for the right user before you make the change.

Archive user

Archiving a user -

  1. transfers the user's files and folder to another Nerdio user
  2. the user's mailbox is converted to a shared mailbox
  3. the user is removed from distribution groups

The archived user will no longer be able to log in to their Nerdio desktop. The archived user does not count towards the number of active Nerdio users. If a new user were to come along, they would be able to use the Nerdio user license assigned to the archived user. In order to log in to the archived user's desktop, you must first restore the user. After restoring you will need to reset the user's password and then log in to the desktop. You may want to use this option if you are planning to access the ex-employee's desktop at some point in the future to retrieve documents or other information on their desktop. Please make sure you are in compliance with all company policies and local, state and federal laws before accessing another user's desktop.

  1. Log in to Nerdio Admin Portal as an Account Admin or Account IT Admin.
  2. In the left hand menu, click on "Users".
  3. In the "Manage users" section, locate the user. You can use the search box to locate the user quickly.
  4. From the drop-down menu select option "Archive user".
  5. You will be prompted to confirm the action you are taking. You will also need to select the new owner of the user's files and folders. The user's ability to no longer login goes in to effect immediately; it will take up to an hour to transfer the files to the new owner. Double-check you are archiving the right user before you make the change.

When a user is archived the following happens:

  • Active Directory account is disabled and moved to Archived Users Organizational Unit (OU)
  • Exchange mailbox is converted to "shared" and full access and send as permissions are assigned to manager. The email continues flowing into this mailbox but the manager now can see it in his Outlook.
  • Office 365 license is unassigned from the user's account
  • A folder shortcut to archived user's folder is placed on manager's desktop
  • User's desktop is shut down and set to Maintenance Mode. The maximum number of desktops in DesktopPool1 in VMware Horizon View is increased by 1 to allow for the old desktop to stay powered off but a new desktop is created for a user (effectively "freeing up" a desktop). If the user didn't have a desktop (e.g. Never logged in, wasn't a fully licensed user, etc.) then this increase by one doesn't happen. The max number of desktops in DesktopPool1 will be equal to number of purchased Nerdio users + number of archived users.

When an archived user is restored the following happens:

  • Verify there are sufficient Nerdio licenses to re-enable desktop
  • Active Directory account is enabled and moved to Active Users Organizational Unit (OU)
  • Office 365 license is assigned to the account in Office 365
  • Folder shortcut is removed from manager's desktop
  • If there is a powered off desktop in maintenance mode with the user assigned to it then the maximum number of desktops in DesktopPool1 is reduced by 1 and the desktop is taken out of maintenance mode

Delete user

Deleting a user completely removes the user's files, folders and desktop. The deleted user will no longer be able to log in to their Nerdio desktop. If a new user were to come along, they would be able to use the Nerdio user license assigned to the deleted user. You may want to use this option only when you are no longer planning to access the ex-employee's desktop. Please make sure you are in compliance with all company policies and local, state and federal laws before deleting a user's desktop.

  1. Log in to Nerdio Admin Portal as an Account Admin or Account IT Admin.
  2. In the left hand menu, click on "Users".
  3. In the "Manage users" section, locate the user. You can use the search box to locate the user quickly.
  4. From the drop-down menu select option "Delete user".
  5. You will be prompted to confirm the action you are taking. The change takes effect immediately. Double-check you are deleting the right user before you make the change.

When a user is deleted the following happens:

  • Active Directory account is deleted (this causes Exchange and OneDrive to be marked for deletion in 30 days)
  • User folder (\FS01\USERS\%username%) is deleted
  • User's desktop is deleted

When an archived user is deleted the following happens:

  • Active Directory account is deleted
  • If there is a powered off desktop in maintenance mode with the user assigned to it then the maximum number of desktops in DesktopPool1 is reduced by 1 and the desktop is deleted.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.