Submit a request

Nerdio Help Center

What's the difference between reset and revert desktop?


Applies to: Nerdio Private Cloud (NPC) and Nerdio For Azure (NFA) Professional and Enterprise customers using VDI desktops only. Does not apply to NFA RDS desktops.


Query

What's the difference between reset desktop and revert desktop?

Resolution

Resetting a desktop is similar to rebooting a PC. Much like one can press the power button on a computer to shut it down, reset shuts down the desktop and starts it back up. This typically takes about five minutes. A user logged in to the desktop will see a message that they have been disconnected as their session is terminated. They will lose any unsaved work. You may need to reset a desktop if the user's desktop has become unresponsive.

How to reset a Nerdio desktop?

  1. Login to Nerdio Admin Portal (NAP) as an IT admin 
  2. Login to an account (say 1010) and go to the "Users" module.
  3. Expand the "action" menu corresponding to a specific desktop user and click "Reset desktop" option:

reset_desktop1.png

 

Reverting a desktop returns the desktop to the golden image for your Nerdio environment. All user data and any applications the user may have installed are lost. Only data stored in the Documents and Desktop folders is retained. You may need to revert a desktop if an application a user has installed is interfering with normal usage.

How to revert a Nerdio desktop?

  1. Login to Nerdio Admin Portal (NAP) as an IT admin.
  2. Login to an account (say 1010) and go to the "Users" module.
  3. Expand the "action" menu corresponding to a specific desktop user and click "Revert desktop" option:

revert_desktop1.png

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.