Overview of Users

Overview of Users

This article contains the following sections:

Overview

The Users page allows you to manage Azure AD users. You can add a user, assign Microsoft 365 licenses, reset passwords, assign users to groups, assign to AVD desktops, shadow user sessions, etc.

  • To view the users, at the Account level, navigate to Users.

  • The action menu allows you to perform a number of tasks. SeeUser Management for details.

  • You can search the users based on name, username, or email.

  • You can filter the users based on types, assignments, or roles.

  • Select the refresh icon to refresh the list.

Add a User

Nerdio Manager allows you to add a new user.

To add a user:

  1. At the Account level, navigate to Users.

  2. Select Add User.

  3. Enter the following information:

    • First Name: Type the user's first name.

    • Last Name: Type the user's last name.

    • Primary Email Address: Type the user's primary email address.

    • Mobile Number: Type the user's mobile phone number.

    • Username

      • Make username same as primary email address: Select this option to use the primary email address as the username.

      • Username: If the username is not the primary email address, type the username.

    • Additional contact information: Optionally, select the to enter additional contact information.

  4. Once you have entered all the desired information, select Save.

User Management

Nerdio Manager allows you to perform various user management tasks.

To manage users:

  1. At the Account level, navigate to Users.

  2. Locate the user you wish to work with.

  3. From the action menu, select the desired action.

Desktops

Nerdio Manager allows you to assign users to AVD desktops.

  • Desktop Host Pools: From the drop-down list, select the desired desktop host pool(s) to assign to the user.

RemoteApps

Nerdio Manager allows you to assign users to RemoteApps host pools.

  • RemoteApp Host Pools: From the drop-down list, select the desired RemoteApps host pool(s) to assign to the user.

Microsoft 365

Nerdio Manager allows you to assign users to Microsoft 365 licenses.

  • Microsoft 365 Licenses: From the drop-down list, select the desired Microsoft 365 license to assign to the user.

Groups

Nerdio Manager allows you to assign users to groups.

  • Groups: From the drop-down list, select the desired group(s) to assign to the user.

Archive

Instead of permanently deleting a user, you may choose to archive the user. The archive user operation can include several steps such as disabling the user login, logging off the user from host pool(s), removing host pool assignment(s), stopping session hosts, removing the user from AAD group(s), retaining or deleting FSLogix user profile containers, retaining Microsoft 365 licenses for a certain period or recovering the license immediately. You can select which actions are performed during the archive process.

  • Disable login: Select this option if you want to disable the user's account in Azure AD.

  • Log off user: This option is available only if user has host pool assignments.

  • Remove host pool assignments: Select this option to remove user from any assigned host pools.

  • Remove user from AAD group(s): Select this option to remove user from any assigned AAD group(s).

  • Stop session host(s): Select this option to remove the user from the assigned session host(s).

  • Delete FSLogix user profile container: Select this option to delete FSLogix user profile containers, if any, for the user

  • Keep M365 license for X days : Select this option to retain the user's Microsoft 365 license for a specified number of days.

    • Select a temporary new owner of selected user's emails and OneDrive files: From the drop-down list, select the user who has access to the archived user's emails, files, and folders.

  • Remove M365 license immediately: Select this option to remove Microsoft 365 license from the user immediately.

    Note: Microsoft retains emails and files for 30 days.

Restore

Nerdio Manager allows you to restore an archived user.

  • Locate the archived user you wish to restore, and select Restore.

  • Select the desired restore options.

Other User Management Functions

  • Message: Send a message to the user's desktop.

  • Shadow: If the user has an active desktop session, this allows help desk and administrators to help users remotely by viewing or taking control of the user's session.

  • Logoff: Sign off the user from the desktop.

  • Disconnect: Disconnect the user' s session.

  • Disable login: Disable the user's login.

  • Reset password: Reset the user's password.

  • Edit: Edit a user's profile.

  • Delete: The user account is permanently deleted. In addition, the user is automatically removed from groups, M365 assignment, desktops/app, etc.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments (0 comments)

Article is closed for comments.