How Do I Update a Desktop Image and Hosts?

How Do I Update a Desktop Image and Hosts?

Nerdio Manager allows you to update a desktop image and then re-image all the hosts in all the host pools that use that desktop image.

To update a desktop image and re-image hosts:

  1. In Nerdio Manager, at the Account level, navigate to Desktop Images.

  2. Locate the desktop image you wish to work with and power it on.

  3. Locate IP address for the desktop image VM.

  4. RDP to the desktop image VM and make your changes.

    Notes:

    • You can often use a session host or other Azure VM that is connected to the same VNet to do this.

    • Ensure there are no pending OS update installations and all apps are updated as desired. Pending installations are a common cause for unhealthy images.

  5. Sign off the VM and leave it powered on if you plan to set the image immediately.

  6. In Nerdio Manager, navigate to Desktop Images.

  7. Locate the desktop image you wish to work with and, if it is powered on, select Power off and set as image. If it is powered off, from the action menu, select Set as image.

  8. Enter all the desired information and select OK.

    The re-image task starts. You can follow the task's progress in the Desktop Images Tasks section.

  9. When the desktop image re-image task completes, you need to re-image the host pool(s).

    • In Nerdio Manager, at the Account level, navigate to AVDHost Pools.

    • Locate the host pool that uses the changed desktop image.

    • From the action menu, select HostsResize/Re-image.

      Note: If the host pool has a existing resize/re-image task currently scheduled, you have the option to remove the current schedule or run this task once now and leave the schedule unchanged.

    • Enter all the desired information and select OK.

      The re-image task starts. You can follow the task's progress in the Host Pools Tasks section.

    • Repeat all of these steps for each host pool that uses the changed desktop image.

      Note: Once individual VMs are re-imaged, the changes made to the desktop image are deployed to all users.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments (0 comments)

Article is closed for comments.