Nerdio Help Center

Disconnect vs. log off vs. shut down

It's the end of the day, you are done with work and it's time to head back home. Do you shut down the desktop before you leave? Why shut down when you can log off. Why log off when you can disconnect. Confused with the options? Let's go through each of them.

Disconnect: As the name suggests, disconnecting will immediately terminate your connection to Nerdio desktop. All applications that you had open on your desktop will keep running. Next time you log in to your Nerdio desktop you will find all windows are in the exact same spot. The mouse pointer will be in the exact same spot as well. Disconnecting is a really good option when you are done working from the office and intend to pick things up from home later. You can disconnect by simply clicking X in the Horizon toolbar or select "Disconnect" from the Options menu. Zero client users can press CTRL-ALT-F12. Or if you log in from any other device, you will be automatically disconnected from the device you were logged in to.

Disconnect.PNG

Log off: This is the Windows log off option. You can log out of your Nerdio desktop which will also disconnect you from the desktop. While the desktop will keep running, all applications will be stopped. Next time you log in to your Nerdio desktop you will have to start the applications you need, connect back to the websites you were last visiting or open up the document you were working on. You can disconnect by selecting "Disconnect and Log Off" from the Option menu, or selecting Sign Out from the Windows menu. Logging off is recommended daily after you’re done working.  It clears out the current login session and allow the desktop to be fresh the following morning.

Log_off.PNG

Restart or Shut down: This is the Windows restart or shut down option. You can restart your Nerdio desktop which will of course also disconnect and log you off. All applications will be shut down and the desktop will be powered off. Next time you log in to your Nerdio desktop you will have to start the applications you need, connect back to the websites you were last visiting or open up the document you were working on. You can restart by selecting Shut down from the Windows menu. Restarting is typically needed once a week to free up system memoryand get the computer back to top shape. The system typically restarts weekly during system updates but you could restart it manually if any programs are misbehaving.

Shut_down.PNG

 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.